Tales of a city

This city is full of dark whispers and lies of fifty shades of grey,
Echoes from childhood still ring out in malevolent laughter.
As she traps me with her seven invisible craggy walls of green,
And strangers act as judge with the streets as their courts.
Shadows filled with the beating of her cold and bitter heart,
That loves and loathes all that come to see her ageless beauty.

Locals say I sing the song of far away lands and not hers,
It’s not from here as do not know the lyrics nor want to learn.
As rumours swirl in the wind that is her invisible breath of life,
Making fools of many as she can as one of her many games.
Some days it is impossible to tell real and what is a reflection,
And scared to shatter the glass for fear of getting hurt again.

She calls me back whenever I leave her as wants me to stay,
But I stopped loving her many years ago now want a divorce.
Freedom from her endless suffocation and choking hands,
To look through the eyes of a stranger at her from a distance.
As I wipe away the rain as like tears falling from my face,
And wishing one day to find where my song’s home really is.

© Fi S. J. Brown

Image

Leave a Reply

