The Tea Song

As it is ‘World Poetry Day’ and ‘World Water Day’, what else was a teaoholic writer to do but combine them!
tea

 

Each morning I now switch on the kettle,
And look for a cup for my wake up brew.
I try to forget that look you used to give,
As you slowly sipped on your Earl Grey.

 

With eyes matching my favourite drink,
And lips sweeter than any sugar cube.
You stole my heart and my teapot too,
And wore that red tea cosy on your head.

 

You were the saucer to my old China cup,
Catching my tears and I kept you warm.
Now I feel like an used bag left in the bin,
All squeezed out, bare and flavour gone.
© Fi S. J. Brown
6 thoughts on “The Tea Song

Leave a Reply

